low GPA, science classs taken, Post-Bacc or Masters in biomedical sciences?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

justcallmeK

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

Trying to decide if I should pursue a Post-Bacc route or a MSBS program. I have a degree in bio from a top undergrad institution, a lot of research experience, but a pretty low GPA. I've taken all my pre-med classes, so I need to decide which route will help me gain admission to MD or more likely DO schools.

GenChem I+Lab: C+
OChem 1/1Lab/2/2Lab: C+/A-/C-/C-
Biochem I: B-
Physics I+Lab/II+Lab: C-/B-
Calc I/II: A/C
Biology I+Lab/II/IIL: C-/B-/B

AMCAS GPA: 2.818
BCPM GPA: 2.64
All Other GPA: 3.29
GRE: all sections above 80%
MCAT: not yet taken

In my eyes, master programs are more valuable (real degree, more interesting and medically relevant coursework). However, I don't know how the GPA from a masters program would factor into admission.

Members don't see this ad.

Your GPA is pretty low. Are the science and math classes listed above the only ones you've taken? If so, you're better off NOT doing an SMP at this point. Do you have a reason that these courses are so low? You're going to need to retake some of them, because honestly, the number of Cs is bringing you down. You would probably be better off doing a lot of PB work to improve your grades... Reason being if you mess up the SMP, you're screwed, like really, not able to fix screwed.

Your GPA is pretty low. Are the science and math classes listed above the only ones you've taken? If so, you're better off NOT doing an SMP at this point. Do you have a reason that these courses are so low? You're going to need to retake some of them, because honestly, the number of Cs is bringing you down. You would probably be better off doing a lot of PB work to improve your grades... Reason being if you mess up the SMP, you're screwed, like really, not able to fix screwed.