Low Marks in Prerequisites Courses

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RD123

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I'm currently in fourth Year of undergrad and over the years, I have taken the required courses for Optometry schools but have gotten marks lower than "C" in some of them. I haven't given my OAT yet but I am planning todo it this summer and I do have 3 years of shadowing with an Optometrist. My question is that, has any gotten into Optometry School with low marks in prerequisite courses but have a overall good gpa and a good OAT? Do I need to repeat these courses again? Thank you for any help!

Members don't see this ad.

Are we talking C-, or D? You can check the requirements of the individual schools about the C-, but you won't be able to get in with a D.

Hi! I'm currently in fourth Year of undergrad and over the years, I have taken the required courses for Optometry schools but have gotten marks lower than "C" in some of them. I haven't given my OAT yet but I am planning todo it this summer and I do have 3 years of shadowing with an Optometrist. My question is that, has any gotten into Optometry School with low marks in prerequisite courses but have a overall good gpa and a good OAT? Do I need to repeat these courses again? Thank you for any help!
Usually, if you have C in your prereq courses then you don't have to retake them. I had few C in my prereqs and still got accepted. Do well in you OAT which will compensate any Cs you've gotten.

Members don't see this ad :)