M.D. from China anyone?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pharmy614

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys...

I'm a Canadian student who's considering attending a Chinese med school for foreign/international students that'll be 2-3 yrs long and very inexpensive. But I was wondering: if I do get my M.D. from China will it be hard to find high-paying positions in the West and especially the Middleast (where I want to work)? This is b/c I've heard that the Middleastern hospitals/institutions prefer Western educated doctors (i.e. western med schools). Anyone have any thoughts or experiences on this?

Members don't see this ad.

I have no idea, but you might want to try reading through or searching through the International Forums on SDN (there's actually an "Africa & Middle East" forum). No idea if there's anything helpful in there, but it can't hurt to check. Good luck.

I'm a Canadian student who's considering attending a Chinese med school for foreign/international students that'll be 2-3 yrs long and very inexpensive. But I was wondering: if I do get my M.D. from China will it be hard to find high-paying positions in the West and especially the Middleast (where I want to work)? This is b/c I've heard that the Middleastern hospitals/institutions prefer Western educated doctors (i.e. western med schools). Anyone have any thoughts or experiences on this?

Yes, I think you should do this.

I'm sure that, as a non-citizen who spent years in a Communist nation, studying "medicine" at a non-US accredited institution that is half as long as American programs, you will be in great demand.

:laugh:

Members don't see this ad :)
Yes, I think you should do this.

I'm sure that, as a non-citizen who spent years in a Communist nation, studying "medicine" at a non-US accredited institution that is half as long as American programs, you will be in great demand.