MACP and how do you get FACS or FACP?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
K

kent14

Now I was wondering if anybody knew what MACP stands for and how people get FACS or FACP behind their name because I know that a lot of surgeons don't have FACS behind their degree, and what you get or can do if you have these things behind your name. I am a med student but none of this stuff has ever been made clear to me. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

publish alot
be active in the organization

according to my uncle who just was made a fellow last year

Again, I would say that MACP stands for "Member, American College of Physicians". MR(A)CP = "Member, Royal (Australian) College of Physicians".

I would suggest checking out the web site for the college for further details on membership and fellowship. But generally, I've also heard that publications and being "well known" expert in the field helps!
wink.gif

Members don't see this ad :)