major red flag.....will this prevent me from matching?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

throwaway9999

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all....I'm a regular poster on the forums but made this new account for obvious reasons. I would really appreciate any insight you have into my situation, especially from any of the PDs on here.

I'm currently a third year md student at a US school. During my time in med school, I went through the breakup of my engagement. I did not take this very well and my ex-fiance ended up filing for a protective order against me. I know for a fact that this shows up on any simple background check. The order references harassment and falls under the category of "domestic violence". I've taken full responsibility for my actions and poor judgment and have moved on, but I don't believe he will be willing to drop this at this point.

Will this be something I need to disclose on ERAS and do programs run a background check prior to sending out interview invites? Since this happened after medical school began, it wasn't something I dealt with through the amcas process. Also, how will this affect licensing in the future?

I am also concerned because I am planning to apply to pediatrics, and I wonder if peds PDs will perhaps think I am too unstable to work around children? My application will not be the strongest to begin with, as I had very average preclinical grades, average Step 1 score, etc.

Thank you in advance for any advice you can offer and please be as honest as possible. I've learned to handle criticism.

Members don't see this ad.

The order references harassment and falls under the category of "domestic violence". I've taken full responsibility for my actions and poor judgment and have moved on