MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ciderbun96

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
How long did you guys study for your MCAT? I'm taking mine next April and I want to get a head start because I'm a notoriously bad test taker. I was just curious the avg length a typical pre pod studies for the MCAT.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Members don't see this ad.

I studied in my spare time for 2-3 months and got a 32. Even after weeks and weeks of studying I still felt underprepared. I could've done better if I had more time to study or better luck of the draw on questions. (My lowest AAMC practice test score was a 31and I believe my highest was a 38. Those practice tests were within a couple of days of each other so I would expect luck of the draw could potentially have a huge impact on score range)

Some people may tell you to just study for 2 or 3 weeks and try to do just well enough to get in. I would recommend though really taking your time and giving it your all. However much you study, you won't FEEL prepared and you likely won't actually BE prepared either. Keep in mind that this one test will directly affect the rest of your life and other than the luck of the draw, how well you perform on it is completely in your hands. Also, this is not a test that you want to have to take more than once.

Take a few months, study well, perform well.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using SDN mobile

Reactions: 1 users
"Keep in mind that this one test will directly affect the rest of your life". Haha no pressure there...kidding. Yes, I want to get at least a 26. I don't think that's asking too much seeing as it's slightly above average. 32 is quite impressive, I would love to get that score but I don't think that's realistic. I studied quite a bit for my ACT and only got a 22.

Members don't see this ad :)