MD/PhD applying for Ob

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ObHopeful16

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

I'm an MS3 equivalent MD/PhD student (PhD complete last summer) applying for Ob/Gyn in the upcoming cycle. I've been trying to gage my chances at top academic programs, but I've had a difficult time figuring out what (if any) impact my research background will have on my application. I'm applying from a mid tier med school in the Midwest with the following stats:

Step I-248; Honors in Ob/Gyn, Peds, and Psych; pass in IM and Surgery (FM TBA); approximately 20 papers (a few in Ob) and many presentations; letters from a mix of academic and community Ob/Gyns.

I'm looking at Stanford, Brown, and Brigham as ideal programs.

Any advice or competitiveness estimates you can offer would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Assuming that your school has High Pass, getting just a Pass in both Medicine and Surgery is probably your weakest point. But that can't be changed at this point. Your Step 1 is good, as are all those publications- but most MD/PhDs have long lists of pubs, so don't assume that makes you stand out. The programs you mentioned are good places to aim for. Apply broadly and anticipate a 50% interview invite rate at top-tier places.

On interview day, do NOT
1) ...be the applicant who has a complete inability to discuss his or her research (or anything else) concisely or in layman's terms. You will have some interviewers who really want to delve into the details of what you've done. Others will just want an overview before moving on to other topics.

2) ...be the applicant who doesn't seem to realize that they are signing up for four years of being primarily a clinician. That's to say, don't ask which of your intern rotations could be replaced with lab time. It doesn't go over well.

I thought I had a longer list of 'don'ts' but I think that's it!!