MD/PhD Competitiveness/School List

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hello888

Reaction score
Hello,

I have been working in research full-time after graduating and am wondering if MDPhD would be an option for me. I know I would not be competitive enough for T10 schools but that’s okay with me.

Date of Submission: Spring 2023
cGPA: 3.78
sGPA: 3.72
MCAT: 514 (no retakes)

Residence: Currently a Washington resident but went to school in Dallas and am living in Dallas so might switch residency
Major: Biology, minor in Neuroscience
Not a minority, low SES, or disadvantaged

Non-research experience
: I have a good amount of shadowing plus I am an EMT, so as far as the clinical experience for MDPhD I’m not really worried about that since I know it’s not the focus anyway.

Research experience:
100 hours on short research project on the informatics side after freshman year of college -
Sophomore/Junior year - Covid :( labs were closed at my school
Senior year - 300 hours working as a research technician in a bench lab (very low-level work + things were again slow moving in the lab because of Covid)
100 hours working on my own research project related to the academic/social/curriculum side, gave a poster presentation recently at a conference for medical school faculty
Currently working in a neuroscience/biomedical informatics/engineering lab at a top research institution with a pretty prominent PI. At the time of submission I should have about 2000 hours. No publications yet because my role has been mainly focused on working with patients/collecting the data/writing IRBs/etc but am hoping to dive more into the data analysis and get my name on a couple things. By time of matriculation I would definitely have publications and over 4000 hours of research in this role.