MD/PhD in Mathematics?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jake2

Radiology Attending
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Out of curiosity, anybody know of a mudphud who did their PhD in mathematics/theoretical physics?

Members don't see this ad.

jake2 said:
Out of curiosity, anybody know of a mudphud who did their PhD in mathematics/theoretical physics?

I remember a girl from Princeton was applying to our school last year with the goal of doing a PhD in mathemetical modelling. I do not know if she got accepted. I also remember that she was very pretty:) Even though I am majoring in Molecular Biology and math, I will not probably do computational stuff. But, who knows?

jake2 said:

That type of combination might not be found using the terms "mathematics/theoretical physics", but could probably be seen quite often with fields like computational neuroscience. Comp NS and many other fields rely almost exclusively on high order diff. equations to model their theories. I know for a fact that our collaborating lab published in Neuro Computing with a math PhD as a second author (probably solely to double check the math). That being said, I don't think that type of degree is seen as often because most the joint degrees are applied mathematics degrees that are integrated into more clinically applicable fields..

Members don't see this ad :)
Belfagor said: