MD School list help please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

oobie

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I just got my new MCAT scores in, so I wanted to ask for a list of possible MD schools. I might be looking at DO as well; just need to figure that out soon. I am an AZ resident, so I will definitely be applying to the two in-state schools here. I am a double major in Neuroscience & Cognitive Science and Human Anatomy and Physiology with two minors in Chemistry and Spanish (I really like school and taking classes).

AMCAS GPA: 3.81
AMCAS BCPM GPA: 3.76
MCAT: first time was a 28 (10/7/11)
just took it on Jan 10th, score was 30 (10/10/10)

Otherwise ECs include:

3 years Triathlon club, 3 years Ballroom dance club
4 years of research - 3 posters, 1 publication to come (I don't think it will be published by the time I get into interviews... possibly if interviews are in January 2016)
20 hours of MD shadowing -- I am looking to increase this over the next few months.
10 months of hospice - maybe 100 hours (volunteering)
1 year of respite care for young adults with developmental diseases - 300 hours (Working, 3 years ago)
Preceptoring (TA) for upper division neuroscience class
Tutor for math, general chemistry, and physics - both volunteer and as work
Volunteer
at Poetry Center - 150 hours over two years
TED Talk subtitle transcriber - 100 hours (volunteer)

I believe my strengths are my GPA and diversity in things that I do - specifically triathlon and ballroom dance. My weakness I would think is clinical experience and shadowing, as most of my clinical experience was done much earlier in my collegiate career (I would have continued respite, but couldn't commute the 100 miles every weekend or so to do it).

The schools I am thinking of applying to are:

University of Arizona - Tucson
University of Arizona - Phoenix
Frank H Netter SOM at Quinnipiac University
Mayo Medical School (reach)