Med application and/or Biostatistics Masters?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whtnoise

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I’d like to get some advice about my career prospects. I intend to apply to MD programs in the upcoming cycle for admission in 2016. It has been two years since I graduated from a highly regarded private university in California. My overall GPA is a 3.5 with a science GPA of 3.1, with significant negative outliers in physics and organic chemistry. My MCAT is a 34 with a 9 physical sciences 12 natural sciences 13 verbal. I applied during the 2015 cycle to 12 schools exclusively outside of California, mainly in the Northeast with final secondary applications submitted September to October, held up mostly by my failure to get letters of evaluation. I did not receive any interviews.

I have worked for the past two years as a laboratory research assistant in a cancer research laboratory and am happy in my position. In addition I am regularly (weekly) shadowing oncology clinicians. My PI is suggesting that I begin a masters program (we have discussed biostatistics programs, mainly because of my work on current projects in the lab) He believes that to apply to medical school in my current position would not yield a significantly different result from the previous application cycle.

When speaking to my advisor it seems that submission of an essentially similar application to a greater number of schools and at the earliest possible dates could make a significant difference. Most of my interest lies in research. I have been seriously considering applying to a masters program for health sciences bachelor’s in applied biostatistics and epidemiology. I have thought that this would make a meaningful difference in future opportunities as an MD perhaps working in clinical trials.