Med School In UK vs. DO in US

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ubigal

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone can give me helpful input. I am an american student. I have been accepted into a good DO school and might possibly gain acceptance to the U College of London.

Not sure which to choose. Will the UCL curriculum be enough to prepare me for the USMLE. Do I have to take that or a different exam? How does UCL compare to other UK schools? I heard its one of the best.

Any thoughts on this matter is much appreciated. I wouldn't mind going abroad, if I don't hurt my future here in the states.

Thanks a bunch.

[This message has been edited by ubigal (edited 01-24-2001).]

Members don't see this ad.

My opinion:

American D.O. grads--good, but a dime a dozen.

London-trained American citizens--I would snatch you up in a half a second to add diversity, perspective and flavor to my PGY-1's.

How much would that U.K. school cost you in tution?

about the same as a private MD or DO school here, 40 to 50K. But I would go for free as an MD/PhD (MBBS/PHD) student.

how well would I be prepared for the USMLE? Is the curriculum the same there as it is here?

thanks for the quick response!

Members don't see this ad :)
If you get to go for free, I would not even consider this issue further. You will generally be prepared for boards anywhere worldwide.

Just a brief (for me) reply - depends on what your expectations are. As a student at a foreign school designed for foreign residents (as opposed to schools designed for Americans - whether in the US or not) you should not expect to hear your professors say "you will need to know this for Step 1" nor should you expect that the library will be stocked with USMLE review materials.