Med students who got in via Master's route

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lilygee123

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I went to an average university in North Jersey and graduated 5 years with a GPA of 2.9. I got my Bachelor's of Science in Biology with a minor in chemistry. My professors really sucked and the lack of teaching invoked a depression and lack of motivation in me so my GPA showed it. However, I got into a Master's program in Biological Sciences in Philly. If I happen to do remarkably well in my studies for example achieving at least a 3.6+ GPA could I be okay for medical school standards? I would literally go anywhere on the east coast. I read a lot of people being very negative about taking the Master's in Biology route and I am terrified that maybe I made a mistake with going this route? I figured why do a post-bacc? What if I get a bad GPA with that too? However I am also looking at the bright side, what if my research based Master's would help me? So yeah, anyone who has gone through the Master's route and got into medical school please tell me how you did this?

Members don't see this ad.

Since you say it's a research based masters I'm assuming it's not a SMP? If so, it's not going to really help your low GPA. Graduate degrees often inflate grades, with a C being a failing grade in many programs. Because of this, not much weight is put on GPA in non-SMP masters programs.

Reactions: 1 users