Medicine to dentistry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Noclue14

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,
I am currently a 4th yr med student (DO) who, for multiple reasons, desires to switch from medicine to dentistry. I was wondering if there are any accelerated programs that would allow me to do so without starting over from the very beginning. I am in the top 1/3rd of my class, have scored well on all board exams and clinical rotations, multiple publications, ect., however I do not desire to pursue medicine any further after graduation. Subsequent shadowing experiences throughout my 3rd and 4th yr in various dental specialties interests me much more. I've done several searches but can't find what I am looking for. I appreciate any help or advice someone could provide.
Cheers

Members don't see this ad.

Hey all,
I am currently a 4th yr med student (DO) who, for multiple reasons, desires to switch from medicine to dentistry. I was wondering if there are any accelerated programs that would allow me to do so without starting over from the very beginning. I am in the top 1/3rd of my class, have scored well on all board exams and clinical rotations, multiple publications, ect., however I do not desire to pursue medicine any further after graduation. Subsequent shadowing experiences throughout my 3rd and 4th yr in various dental specialties interests me much more. I've done several searches but can't find what I am looking for. I appreciate any help or advice someone could provide.
Cheers

ignoring the eventual replies about "why" you've made this decision...assuming this is your route no matter what then two suggestions