General MPH/MHA INQUIRY - WHERE WILL I ADVANCE IN LIFE?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UpcomingOD2014

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently studying for the OAT to get into OD school. If I do not do well, I most likely will move on with my life and pursue a masters degree in healthcare. I'm not sure if it will be an MHA or MPH or MS Stats. I would need time in doing research and figuring out what's the best route for me.

Since I have a lower GPA of about 2.90, I feel that I would have trouble getting into a good graduate school, and would have to probably do well on the GRE. I already know my grades aren't the best, so please don't tell me that I would need to improve my GPA and so forth, I've already tried in improving it, long story short and I just want to start somewhere with my education in January 2015!

I plan on completing my OAT by first week of January 2015 and if it doesn't go well, I plan on starting a masters program starting January 2015. I do not want to like wait it out until August 2015 to start a masters, because 7 months of my life will go away and currently time is significant in my life.

So with all that being said, what are the chances of me getting into 1)A decent graduate school for some form of a masters in healthcare by spring semester January 2015!

I'm not aiming for a top school such as John Hopkins, I'm just aiming for something 'decent' that would land me a good education in which employers will not frown upon and that would prepare me for the job field. Once again, I'm undecided in what masters route I would go with, but I know it's going to be in healthcare and I would need time in analyzing what to go for. Obviously, I'm not analyzing right now, because my main goal is the OAT and to attend Optometry school.