MS OT Applicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wcita653

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I am new to this but I was wondering what are my odds of getting into the schools that I am applying to? I am applying to University of Southern California, University of North Carolina, and University of Illinois at Chicago.

My G.P.A. is 3.7
Prereq GPA is 3.66
GRE is around 1100
I have 100+ observation hours with an OT in various fields (Rehab, outpatient, inpatient, pediatrics)
I do not have any work experience in the field yet, but I have an internship set up for next semester. When I started to apply I could not talk about it since I have not started it yet. The only other extra curricular that I have is that I had an independent study with a Rehab Prof.

Members don't see this ad.

If people edge you out w/ a better GPA than that, they are wasting their time and should be in med school. Really. I can't speak for any school's cutoff but what you have has got to be very competitive, wouldnt you say?

Call those schools and ask them what last year's GPA made the cut, and let us know what they say. Good Luck.

3.7? Maybe you should be aiming higher.... hardest part is getting in, the rest is gravy.

I have pretty much the same stats and applying to UIC and USC, but my OT experience isn't that varied. I have about 100 hours in rehab and neuro at the same hospital. I'm going to get some peds soon before the app deadlines are over. Is that worrisome that I don't have much diversity in my experiences?

Supercota, what do you mean that the OP should be aiming higher? Do you mean that his/her grades should be better than a 3.7? Or are you being sarcastic? Sorry if I didn't get that. I'm a little confused. I am also worried about whether or not I will get into OT school.