MS1 - Failed first test in Foundations course

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mecidimes

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a first-year medical student in Kentucky. Our class structure includes a Foundations course which I am currently taking, and it covers micro, immuno, pharm, and pathology, none of which I took in pre-med courses.

I am certainly paying the price for not taking those courses, because despite them not being official prereqs for our class (or for our MCAT), professors in this course have so far said they are pretty much assuming we have a background in these sciences. For the majority of students in my class, they are correct, but I am not one of them.

We have seven cumulative exams in this class, one for every Friday, and I flunked the first one with a 62.5 (class average was 82). Frankly, I don't know what more I could have done to improve since I'm just memorizing a bunch of disjointed info that doesn't make much sense to me. I especially didn't do well on the immunology sections.

I suppose I'd like to ask if anyone else has run into a similar issue in med school and how you got through it. I tried making flashcards, but ended up using up a lot of time making them and didn't learn much from them. Unlike previous courses so far in med school, I am approaching this course without any prior knowledge of the material. How do I build a foundational understanding of these fields, especially immunology?

Members don't see this ad.

Read How the Immune System Works ASAP. Follow that up with long hours of study. Without a framework of understanding, it will be exceedingly difficult to memorize all the details of immunology.

I'm a first-year medical student in Kentucky. Our class structure includes a Foundations course which I am currently taking, and it covers micro, immuno, pharm, and pathology, none of which I took in pre-med courses.