MS3 Struggling on clerkships

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gwiggy900

Reaction score
I am a current MS3 attending a top 20 med school, step 1 score ~242.
As the title states, I am 3 clerkships in and have only received 2 passes and 1 high pass. Distribution at my school is around 20% pass, 40% HP, 40% H. So obviously I am likely 4th quartile. No negative comments on MSPE. Was very close to honoring my HP rotation and one of the P was due to poor shelf score.

I am seriously considering anesthesiology, but I was wondering if poor clerkship performance would bar me from matching as a 4th year. I am open to both academic and community programs and plan on applying broadly.
I have no research experience, but I was hoping to get involved with something this summer hopefully.

Any advise on what I can work on moving forward?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Top 20 medical school with 242, you are going to be just fine.
I guess one thing that concerns me is when I look online, most people have fantastic clinical grades even with low board scores which makes me wonder if my grades are going to be a red flag for when I apply. Any recommendations for anesthesia rotation i have coming up in couple months? I was hoping to secure a lor during my home rotation.

Members don't see this ad :)
As JiPo pointed out, between your board scores and going to a top 20 school, you will be fine. I would recommend trying to figure out what it is that you’re struggling with.

Its easy to give advice on how to succeed on standardized tests. It is very hard for an outsider to understand what a schools clinical grades are based on and impossible for an outsider to provide meaningful insight on how to improve clinical performance for your specific complicated grading regimen.