MSU Clinical rotations: is your school pass/fail?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Smeece_

Michigan State CVM c/o 2024
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!!

I'm trying to get a sense of what vet schools have a pass/fail system for their clinical rotating students.

Michigan state still uses numerical grading, as well as 60 required hours for rotating students and sometimes its as high as 80 hours. It's very exploitative in my opinion, and C/O 2023 did pretty badly on their NAVLE due to overexertion and not enough time outside of clinics for studying. When I brought this up during orientation, their answer was "its just always been that way", excuse me, WHAT?

I'm a previous dual DVM/PhD student that left their program due to exploitation plus a whole slew of other issues, so I'm transitioning to C/O 2024's rotating class, and I don't want to spend my clinical year being exploited even more, when we need time to actually prepare for the NAVLE. I know that human medicine utilizes pass/fail during clinics so why can't we? Why is it a standard that students are overworked when hospitals are understaffed? This needs to change.

I plan on gathering data from other schools to present to our clinical faculty directors, as well as starting a poll with C/O 2024 on whether pass/fail should be standard or not.

thank you everyone!

Members don't see this ad.

UIUC is pass/fail for clinics.

Also, what do you mean by 60-80 required hours?
I'll put them on my list! Thank you!