My Attempt at studying for the OATs... What do you think?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Best OAT resource that helped you kill the OAT Test?

• Kaplan Book

• Crack the OAT

• OAT Destroyer

• Chad's Videos

Results are only viewable after voting.

Jalam

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Soo.. I just started studying for the OAT test like 3 days ago. I want to be able to take it sometime in August. I wanted to share my "strategy" and hear what everyone thinks! ANY advice and criticism would be MUCH MUCH appreciated because I am really nervous and concerned.

I have the OAT Kaplan 2015 Strategies, Practice, and Reviews Book (comes w/ 2 online practice tests, that's it). I started reading Biology and got through 2 chapters and then jumped to Gen Chem and did the first 2 chapters. I planned on bouncing from section to section in order to not get bored with one subject and to be able to constantly keep the material fresh rather than finishing Biology in the first 2 weeks and then not seeing it again for months. Not sure if this is a good idea or not... As I am reading, I am just typing out some key stuff to remember rather than just reading it and not writing anything down (not sure if this is helping me or not though..). Then I am doing the practice questions at the end of each chapter and looking at the ones I answered wrong before moving onto the next chapter. Occasionally I look at some khanacedemy videos at night to refresh what I learned that day.

I know I should probably purchase other material to study so recommendations would be much appreciated! I've heard about Chad's videos (although I have no idea where to get them and I HAVE tried looking for them..) and the OAT destroyer for practice questions.

If anyone has any more suggestions on resources (links to get them would be AWESOME :) ) and any other advice for my studying please please comment below!