My chances into med schools?(GPA 3.7, sGPA 3.4)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rfalrifa

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys...:biglove:
SO, I'm a NC resident, currently have a junior/senior status,biochem major, my current cGPA is 3.73 and my sGPA is 3.46 (this is my GPA for only the chemistry classes in my degree evaluation, I'm not sure if it does count as my "science GPA", but hopefully it will get higher coz I have few more classes to take); but I have an upward trend, got few B's the first 2 semesters in college, then almost straight A's the rest of them.

My clinical experience:
50 hours of volunteering with the Red Cross in high school.
50 hours of volunteering at the hospital ER/front desk
30 hours of physician shadowing (internal medicine)
48 hours (and still going) of volunteering at a free clinic

Other Activities
-An AmeriCorps member-- 450 hours as an Arabic interpreter for a resettlement agency for new refugees and immigrants.
-A discussion leader for General Chemistry (2 semesters and still going)-- kind of like a tutor but for a bigger group of students.
-Research experience (3 semesters and still going), I also presented 2 posters.
-100 hours of volunteering at a community college at their ESL program. (during High school)
-50 hours of volunteering at a school for new refugees and immigrants.

So how do I stand??
I haven't taken the MCAT yet, neither have I started studying for it, but planning to do so during the summer/senior year. Is that too late?
Also do I need more clinical experience, like hands on, or does the volunteering at the free clinic is sufficient (assuming that I will keep volunteering there till I graduate).

Thank you SO MUCH!!! and sorry for making it too long :sorry:

Members don't see this ad.

Nice!! Your volunteering activities (both clinical and non-clinical) are excellent. Definitely continue doing what you're doing.