My chances on getting into pod school...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sabin

USF Alum. Barry Pod
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
:)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
for the MCAT you need
  1. chem
  2. o-chem
  3. physics
  4. general bio
  5. try some journal reading for the veral section....
other than that you should be good

Here is a brief summary. Please can you rate my chances and tell me what else I can do.

I'm almost done with my sophomore year.

GPA: Overall = 3.27
Science = 3.0

Shadowing XP: Since I was a freshman. 1 Podiatrist. Do I need to shadow 2 or more?

Leadership XP: I hold officer positions in 3 different clubs

Volunteer XP: 50 logged hours thus far at my local hospital (I've also given up all of my spring breaks [2 thus far.lol] to go on my university's outreach service trips to help those in need around the world.

I've always wanted to be a doctor ever since I was a young child. I really want to be a podiatrist because of the impact our local podiatrist (the one I shadow) has had on my family- my father was in a skiing accident and had to have multiple surgeries and therapies. His podiatrist greatly improved the quality of his life (although he still suffers from some pain).

Do I have a shot? :xf:
thanks.:)
Welcome Sabin! Whether or not you have a good shot of getting in will depend on a couple of things like which schools you want to go to, what your MCAT score ends up being like, etc. Your GPA is decent, not super-competetive, but with a good MCAT score and improving your GPA (or at least keeping it where it is) you should have a very good chance at getting into a podiatry school. You can do a search for more information on which schools accept more students than others if you want to see which schools you have a better shot of getting in at. Good Luck!

Members don't see this ad :)