My chances. Read and you will understand.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Round4

Med School Dreams
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
First of all, I'm 22 and I'm a freshman at Arkansas State University. Now you know that so here it goes. I have been in school for 4 years and only have 8 semester hours, I have only finished one complete semester and did horrific. I currently have a 2.3 GPA, so which probably gives me the worst GPA on this forum. I want to be a Family Physician but I easily lose my motivation in school. I have a 2 year old son and a wife that is about to graduate and go to dental school, here is the kicker she is 20 yrs old!! Depressing I know, anyway while she wants me to go to school it's hard to work part-time too and pay all our bills. So we will be stressing out and all that jazz so I quit to go to work but get so unhappy with what i'm doing with my life that I go back to school to ultimately repeat the cycle. Is it in anyway possible for me to still get into Med school after messing up things academically for the past 4 years? Be honest

Members don't see this ad.

Well first off you need to decide whether your ready to go to medical school. If your having trouble getting motivated to study etc. then you might not be ready mentally just yet. Your still young, I would take some time off, maybe a year or so to figure out exactly what you want to do. As far as the GPA is concerned I wouldn't worry about it, if you've only attempted 8 credits that GPA can easily be raised. Put it this way I have a 3.7 cumulative GPA over approx 145 credits and the first semester I was in college I had 12 credits of F's. So your GPA is going to be more reflective of the grades you obtain from here on out, don't worry about those 8 credits. Also how did you end up with 8credits over 4 years of enrollement to begin with? Did you just keep withdrawing from courses every semester?