My Chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ssg

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have seriously been considering Neurology as my career choice. Unfortunately however, I did not do so well on my Step 1 exam (barely passing). I'm currently studying for my Step 2 and trying to make up for my mistake but will that help or am I just fooling myself?

Just to give more info, I'm an IMG going to a school in the carribean, just started my 4th year. I did pretty well in my core rotations. I'm trying to get involved in some research as well, possible something involving neuro.

Any advice will be much appreciated. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

1) If you rock step 2 the step1 will be almost a non factor.
2) If you dont rock it you can still b a neurologist by doing reseacrh, but most defnitelyper doing away rotations in neurology or neuro-like fields (stroke for instance) at institutions you might consider for residency. get a letter of rec from them etc. since you arent matching till 2009, start planning an away rotatin or two immediately.

in short if you really want to be a neurologist prove it to them and board scores won't matter as much.

I disagree with that minstral..

Step 1 is way more important thatn step 2. Most programs have already made their decision by the time step 2 is taken anyway. For a "non traditional" applicant ( IMG and especially Caribbean ) the bar is raised even higher...

Members don't see this ad :)
Hey ssg, a great step 2 score (high 230s-240s) will make up for the step 1 score. Research is a bonus too if you are still SOL PM when it comes to applications as I know a program that is open to IMG, you don't have to get great step scores but passing is fine with it still being academic with most of the neuro fellowships (if that's what you want to do). Location isn't too bad.