My child

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chasingzion

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Technically ive been in school now for a year and a half but thats all real estate courses and developmental classes. I only have about 15 credits which would all be considered electives since I've just recently decided to go the premed route. BASICALLY Im just getting started, which leaves me with 4 more years before I apply to med school.
Im 24 (25 in September) my son is 11 months old. One of my reasons for wanting to become a pediatrics radiologist is to provide a good life for my child.
Im well aware of the time that will have to be put in to live my dream. Sometimes I get sad thinking about all of that time in school, and how I will be missing out on my baby's life. I guess he'll be about 10 by the time I become a practicing doctor. So he would just be entering jr high! OMG. Not to mention I'm a single Mom.

My mom is an emergency RN , she never graduated until I was 18. I felt like she was in school my WHOLE LIFE! She switched her major a million times and worked in between. I always felt like a burden though, like I was in the way and her school work was more important. There was never enough time for ME. I felt ignored. She was emotionally unavailable because she was burned out from school. Blazay blazay.

Bottom line, im scared of becoming like my mother. I want to be there for my son. I would hate for him to EVER feel the way I did coming up. One thing I won't do is change my major and stop and start tge way she did, so it wont take me until the time hes 18 to graduate med school.

It all seems so daunting though, but im up for tge challenge. I admit though, sometimes I'm like....well ill just go the PA route so that its not so long. When all else fails ill just settle for sonography tech and be satisfied with a 50k annual salary and call it a day.