My First Attempt - OAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

VisionsFinest

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey All,

I am new here and upon reading many other threads, I am unsure if my chances are ruined for getting into SUNY/NECO/UCB.

I have taken the OAT once and I scored the following:

Biology: 200
G-Chem: 230
O-Chem: 270
Reading Comprehension: 290
Physics: 240
Quantitative Reasoning: 300

Total Science: 230
Academic Average: 260

The reason for these low scores is that I studied about 8 weeks and rushed myself just to meet the deadline for a school. Unfortunately, I scored low and must re-take. This time I plan on scoring very high. My goal is a 350+ on each section.

The materials that I used were the following:

• OAT Destroyer

• Chad's Videos

• Kaplan Book - Did not use it since I had Chad's Videos for understanding the concepts.

1. For Biology, I did about 300 multiple choice questions from the OAT destroyer. I made sure to not only memorize but to understand the big picture. However, I scored very low on this section and spent about 8 weeks studying, 7 days a week for about 6-8 hours daily. During the OAT, I remember seeing questions that I never had expected. They were very tricky and it was my first section, so the anxiety was kicking in.

2. For G-Chem, I watched Chad's Videos and took notes. I then did questions for G-Chem from the OAT destroyer. I spent a lot of time on this section as well, 7 days a week, for about 6-8 hours daily. I found the questions on the OAT destroyer really difficult for G-Chem and at times I would lose motivation while studying.