My Story - Need some advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kappadonna13

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys. I'm new to the board. I'm actually from Canada, eh.

I've been running into a lot of brick walls and am unsure about my options for medical school. I am open to any sound advice you may have.

I graduated from the University of Toronto in 2005 with a pretty poor cGPA of 2.5. I put aside my thoughts of going to medical school; however, shortly after graduating, I was diagnosed with attention deficit disorder and obsessive compulsive disorder. After learning to cope with these disabilities, I starting thinking about medical school again. I decided to return to do an extra year of undergrad to boost up my GPA. I did extremely well; however, my cGPA only went up to 2.7.

If you drop my five lowest marks, I end up with a 3.0 overall. I know this doesn't cut it for medical school - but I went ahead and wrote the MCAT anyway. I ended up with a 27Q (11 Bio - 10 Phys - 6 Verbal). Not the best score. I had been hitting 8's and 9's in verbal before going into the MCAT, but it just wasn't my day.

Although my GPA is poor and my MCAT score is below average, I have an incredible amount of volunteer and hospital experience! I've worked as a research coordinator for two years in Toronto and abroad. I've also worked in a hospital lab in South Asia. I've coordinated several major fundraising efforts in Toronto - including one initiative that I created myself to raise funds for the Canadian Cancer Society. Furthermore, I even have a publication. I've also worked as a tutor in chemistry. I've had the opportunity to shadow with many doctors and have been encouraged by them to apply and see what happens. I am confident that my referees will provide strong letters of reference.