Need advice from anyone who has self taught physics for MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

phixius12345

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I am planning to take my MCAT in Jan of 2015 before the new one comes out, but I have not taken physics yet and I have been teaching myself so far. I was wondering if anyone has self taught themselves physics and can provide some advice on the best methods for doing so. I currently have NOVAS physics book TBR and EK and I have been learning my content from there. I would really appreciate some advice on how you self taught physics and did well on the MCAT. For those who are going to offer the advice to take the class before the MCAT, I would, but I really want to take the old one, because of all the uncertainty with the new MCAT coming out. I would really appreciate any advice I can get. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

it had been about 2 years since i took physics during my undergrad (having been a B+ student in them then), and i highly suggest TBR book and Chad's videos at coursesaver. i averaged an 11 on the AAMC FLs and got an 11 on the real thing via them.

Can you afford a tutor? If so, I would recommend having a tutor help you learn Examkrackers asap. Nova is an excellent book if time permits, but EK should come first. Try to find an EFFICIENT tutor and work hard.