Need Advice Please Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AEM3334

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a sophomore (by transfer credit a senior due to an early college high school program) at UT Austin. I have only been here one semester and did poorly in my science courses (two Cs for general bio and chem 1). I am currently doing well in bio 2, chem lab, and although I am struggling quite a bit in chem 2, I am sure I will turn that grade around, but the most I think I will realistically get is a B.

See, I struggle in science, but I know in my heart of hearts that I want to be a doctor, so I will work as hard as I have to.

The thing is, I retook my biology courses and the first semester of chemistry from the classes that transferred while I was at an early college high school. Now, I want to take physics, but in order to not have an overwhelming course load (I am also an English major) I want to take it over the summer in my hometown. However, I took physics while in high school, and I am afraid this may turn off medical school committees when they see that I retook to many courses. To be fair, I took those courses before even graduating, but I just don't know if it will look bad on my transcript. Also, I know I have a better chance of getting an A in both (I had a B and a C in the separate semesters of physics).

*Note: Forgot to mention the courses I took were at a UT institution, so everything transfers.

Any help will be much appreciated. Thanks, have a nice day.

Members don't see this ad.

You might want to consider posting this in the general allopathic pre-med forum. They may have more information for you.

It seems you have two choices here: