need advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

randomqwerty

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am planning to do a postbac to fulfill the prerequisites for applying to medical school. I have a bachelor's degree from a foreign country with low GPA. I understand that foreign undergrad grades are not used for AAMC GPA calculation. My question is do medical schools request foreign transcripts and how much would a low foreign undergrad GPA affect the medical school application? Any suggestions? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Randomqwerty,

Is that a low GPA based on WES (or other company) evaluation, or is that your personal opinion of your own GPA? I don't know the answer to your question about medschools and transcripts and would be curious to know as well. I guess it's a school-by-school thing but I'm not far enough along the process to spend time on medschool websites trying to find out now. I'll have to do this next year though.

Hi, I am planning to do a postbac to fulfill the prerequisites for applying to medical school. I have a bachelor's degree from a foreign country with low GPA. I understand that foreign undergrad grades are not used for AAMC GPA calculation. My question is do medical schools request foreign transcripts and how much would a low foreign undergrad GPA affect the medical school application? Any suggestions? Thanks!