Need Help Picking A Degree??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Joel Murphy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a nontraditional student interested in mental health. From my very limited understanding a social work degree is more advantageous than a counseling degree. What are the pros and cons to each degree type; counseling, psychology, social work, etc? Ideally, I'd like to limit the time it takes to complete the degree. Are there any legitimate 1 yr Social work in counseling degrees available online? I live in Wisconsin if that makes a difference. How much a social worker who works with mentally ill patients expect to make? If someone experienced could give me insight on the whole educational/licensing progress I'd be grateful. I have a bachelor degree already so I'd be looking at masters programs.

Thanks in advance

Joel

Members don't see this ad.