Need Help Prepping For MCAT in NY... Willing to spend some $$

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sshidid

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a good student and a very hard worker. I did well on the SATs as I felt my high school and my environment really prepped me for it. Plus, all the years of challenging courses really helped crispen my critical thinking skills. However, I went to a college that was much easier than my high school, due to family circumstances. I lost my critical thinking skills and even in the most challenging courses i took at this school, they all felt short of a decent education. Getting stuck in the vicious cycle, I realized just how much I really missed out.

When I take MCAT practice exams, I realize my BIGGEST issue is simply not knowing the information. I did not see a lot of these topics in my college level courses. In fact, some of these topics I have not seen since high school and others, I have not seen all together. A big part of my studying has been CATCHUP.

I took a Kaplan course, but found it too easy, disorganized, and not really applicable. What they fail to tell you is that the meat and potatoes falls on all of the resources they give you, but you have to take them ALONE and independently.... completely not worth the 2 grand.

I am looking for a structured curriculum where I can relearn everything I need to know for the MCAT, content wise, where I can learn with others or even one on one with a tutor(if anyone knows of any good MCAT tutors in NY, PLEASE TELL ME) . Plus I lack the ability to study independently. I'm not sure if my best bet at the moment would be to enroll in a Master's program, post bacc, or SMP. I have a good GPA(mainly because I went to a lousy school), now all I'm missing is a decent MCAT score...

If anyone has some insight into this, I would love to hear!

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,