Need help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rxstudent2018

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

This is my first post, and I don't know where to post this so I am posting it here. I am considering dropping out of pharmacy school. I am in my first year, and for my first semester, I nearly failed three classes but managed to study really hard and barely passed all of them, though with low grades. I am now in my second semester and the same thing is happening. My grades are low and right now there are three classes that I could fail and it would be pretty hard to get my grades up.

I have bad study habits and have been trying to improve them, but my grades are not really getting any higher. I suffer from depression and consider myself a loner. Also, I don't have any friends and may be autistic. I really struggle with trying to make friends. I have gone to multiple therapists but don't feel as if it helps.

I'm not entirely sure why I even went into pharmacy. I did not like it when I started, but trying to improve my grades has made me more interested in the field.

Should I drop out and try to find a field that is better suited to me? (I would be $17,000 in debt though) Should I keep trying to improve my grades and try to pass this semester again and continue with pharmacy?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I'd take a leave of absence at a minimum. You need to find out if there are any things you are interested in, otherwise you really are doubly working against yourself with depression and an unexciting career. Keep getting treatment and get outside and do some exercise. I hope better days are ahead for you.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Agree with the posters above. I would take a leave of absence, if not quit. Take the time to get treatment, and travel the world or explore another career that may interest you.