Need opinions on my next route. Obsessed with becoming a doctor.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EngineerToDoctorKMJ

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all, this is my first time posting here.
This is my story with a question.

I am a recent engineering student graduate at 23 years old. I have been working for 6 months now. I have been excelling but I want something more.

I feel that I would do anything to get into medical school. I did not want to become a doctor until after I graduated. I was always interested in medicine but never considered a career in it until a couple months ago. Since then I have been obsessed and researching nonstop but I need opinions on a more personalized level.

I was immature in school and hardly studied. I graduated with a cGPa of 2.75. AMCAS of 2.67. With 167 credits.

My plan was to go back to school this summer to start a post bacc to get all of my medical school pre reqs and to bring that AMCAS gpa over a 3.0.

I will take 12 credits in the summer, 17 in fall, 17 in spring, and 12 credits in the following summer. When I get A's for every credit, this will bring my AMCAS cGPA to 3.01 and my sGPA to around 3.3-3.4.

(Yes I know it would be difficult to believe that I would get A's in all of those credits based upon my previous gpa but I know I would. I have a whole new mindset now.)

Let us also assume I get an MCAT score of at least 510.

What do you all believe would be the best course of action to take next to get into a medical school?

I don't know what other options there are besides a masters program...I thinking a one year SMP program.

Let me know if you even believe if medical school is feasible at this point for me assuming the aforementioned goes to plan.

I appreciate any input.

Members don't see this ad.

A couple questions for you:
1. When are you hoping to apply to medical school?