Need Re-app Advice/critique plan

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Glycolysis

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
First, I am putting this thread here because I plan on being a re-applicant but I have some questions about SMPs, so I apologize if this thread should be elsewhere. Thanks for looking this over and responding, I really appreciate any feedback!

Some background, graduated a few years ago with a BS in Kinesology (3.32) and an MS in Nutrition, (3.4) so it's been awhile since I've done real coursework. Was not premed major, then transferred schools. Didn't do so well at the first college, greatly improved at other school, note similar university level. Also I have an embarrassing C- from a Gen Chem, way before I thought about medicine. A later adviser told me not to retake/call adcoms first. I did call adcoms last year and they said it would be taken into consideration with all my other coursework, and hold off on retaking...

Took the MCAT in 2008 got a 30Q, took it again last July 2012, 35R (P11, V11, B13) all thanks to SDN study tips.

I have some recent EC's: volunteering (hospital ER and local hospice care) ~200+ hours so far. Shadowing 3 different docs etc., free self defense/anti-bullying clinics.

Biggest issue: 3 years since I graduated and I've been taking care of increasingly elderly and sick family members full time while occasionally working as personal trainer. This has not put me in a good position to apply, but unthinkingly I did anyways and late...thus my current self-imposed situation.

Reasons I am considering SMP: I need to get back into studying and demonstrate academic ability and commitment. Nutrition does not give me the hard science for this. Also possible exposure to research and can bridge into other research degrees while waiting on med apps.

The quick:
Current stats: Not trad app, 28yo, MCAT 35R, but 3 year old GPA: cum 3.36. sci 3.39 (bcpm 3.31), grad gpa 3.43