New 2 SDN (Looking for knowledge)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mountain21

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a second semester freshman at IUPUI in Indianapolis, and my major is currently Biology. I am also setting myself up for a Chemistry degree, if I want to switch or even double. I plan on a transfer either to Indiana Univ. or to Ball State Univ. later on in 2009-10. But I am also open to any other schools. My goal is obviously Med School, and I am currently aiming to be an Anesthesiologist. I just had a few questions that I can't find answers to, and wanted some help:

1. Are the degrees I am going for going to help/hurt/ or don't really matter when I apply?

2. Does a degree from a non-traditional school like IUPUI hurt me on an application.

3. What type of volunteer or internship jobs should/can I do?

4. Practice MCATs, where can I take them, how can I study. I want to do better than my best basically.

5. Finally, where should I go for med school? As far as my career goal to what school has the best or most renowed program for that career path?

Members don't see this ad.

take all with a grain of salt..as you should do with everything in life :D (well not EVERYTHING lol)
1. It does not matter what you choose as a major in undergrad. None of them will help or hurt your chances when applying to medical school. It will hurt you if you decide to take more than you can handle and your grades start to slip.

2. dont really know about that one, is it an accredited four year university?? If so, then I see no problem.