New member intro, where do I stand?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KPC84

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. Sorry for the long post but I really need some advice here. I'm 25 years old, I graduated from undergrad with a pre-med major and psychology minor back in 2006. After I graduated I spent a year working for Genzyme in Boston doing microbiological labwork, but I didn't get my name on anything published. Since 2007 I have been working at my dad's orthotic and prosthetic practice. My responsibilites include treating walk in patients with "off the shelf" orthotic devices. Also I evaluate for, fabricate, and treat patients with custom foot orthotics. I see patients in a variety of settings including our offices as well as hospitals, nursing homes, inpatient rehab facilities, etc.

I took all this time off because my GPA was not very good when I graduated, and my confidence was shaken terribly. I just started to retake classes this past spring. Long story short, I still have 3 classes I want to retake to get rid of all my C's, however I won't be done until spring semester next year. Will that be too late to apply for fall of 2010? My MCAT score is also older than 3 years, and I'm aware that I will have to retake that as well, I'm thinking the April exam in 2010.

Can anyone give me a critique of where I stand? The strongest part of my application will be my work experience. Through my dad's connections I've been able to cultivate good relationships with many DPM's in and around Boston. I've seen multiple surgeries, and been allowed to shadow doc's pretty much whenever I want. All of which have promised me stellar letters of recommendation, at least 4 right now.

Also, when completing the AACPM online applications, what is the procedure for calculating GPA with classes you have retaken? For example, if I got a C- in orgo but retook it and got a B, do I still need to include the C-?