Newly Grad /// Do we need to pay SCHOOL LOAN now?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

haisha

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated last year from US dental school, and currenly doing my GPR @hospital.
My salary is low (and you know that!!) --- I can not pay SallieMae anything yet.
When I started my GPR, I filed a form stating that I am doing GPR (and a letter from our program director attached) to SallieMae.

They accepted.

My understanding was, I have a 12 months grace period from my graduation PLUS 6 more months.....total of 18 months grace period.

I didn't pay anything until now because I thought it's been taking care of.
Now......they want me to start making a payment :scared:
It's a LOT for someone who is doing GPR......

I just wanted to know if everyone who graduated last year is in the same situation.

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

when did u graduate?
u have 12 months after graduation to start making payments. if you are in residency then your loans get defered for another year. so an year after the GPR is when you HAVE to start payments.

I graduated last year from US dental school, and currenly doing my GPR @hospital.
My salary is low (and you know that!!) --- I can not pay SallieMae anything yet.
When I started my GPR, I filed a form stating that I am doing GPR (and a letter from our program director attached) to SallieMae.

They accepted.

My understanding was, I have a 12 months grace period from my graduation PLUS 6 more months.....total of 18 months grace period.

I didn't pay anything until now because I thought it's been taking care of.
Now......they want me to start making a payment :scared:
It's a LOT for someone who is doing GPR......

I just wanted to know if everyone who graduated last year is in the same situation.

Thank you.