NHSC NHSC LRP Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Davquan

Reaction score
Hello all!

Hopefully I am posting this in the correct forum.

I have a pretty specific question regarding the NHSC LRP (2 year commitment - 50K).
I work as a dentist at a FQHC and received my LRP funds right in the middle of the pandemic in 2020. Due to the student loan payment & interest freeze, I have been sitting on my 50K instead of making payments towards my loans. I now have 8 more months till the end of my 2 year commitment, and I am up for applying for a continuation contract (1 year - 20K). In order to apply for the 1 year contract, you must show proof of funds being used towards your loans.

This is where it gets really specific and where the questions come up.

My hesitation to apply for a continuation contract is because I went 1.5 days over my allowed 35 days off (7 weeks off per year) for the first year of my commitment. Based on the language in the LRP guide, if you go over the allowed days off it could negatively impact if your continuation contract will be approved.

Does anyone have experience with how lenient the NHSC committee is regarding going over days off and reapplying for the continuation? I was not able to get a clear cut answer from calling and emailing NHSC.

This leads to three potential scenarios depending on if I apply for the continuation contract.

#1 - Put 50K towards my loans, reapply, receive the continuation contract, continue to use the new funds to pay loans once it is unfrozen.
#2 - Put 50K towards my loans, reapply, get denied the continuation contract, use own salary to pay loans once unfrozen. (I truly enjoy serving my population through my FQHC and the contract definitely makes it possible to do so as I work in the Bay area).