No college degree, does it matter for residencies?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HotandCold

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone knew if programs necessarily cared if you got into medical school before you finished your college degree. I was a traditional student, straight path to med school with a double major in college. I'm probably one of the youngest people in my class. A few serious life events happened that prevented me from finishing my BS by a few classes, even though I technically have more than enough credits for a degree.

So if anyone has any insight, I'd appreciate it. Taking into account that the applicant has great clinical evals/LORs and a COMLEX in the mid 600's- and can nail an interview. Even maybe explain why the degree couldn't be finished (legit reasons). Applying psych. Thinking of ACGME too. Spanks

Edit: Also, how do I pull off a CV? The first thing in templates I've seen looks like Degrees/education... If anyone has any insight with that, I'd appreciate it too.

Sorry if this is the wrong section

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'm no expert but on the residency pages I've seen, there has been no mention of a bachelor's degree as a requirement.

Reactions: 1 user
um....isn't a BA required to get into med school? you wouldn't be admitted without one.

It is a requirement. unless you went to a 6 year ba/md program.

I have no idea.

Members don't see this ad :)
um....isn't a BA required to get into med school? you wouldn't be admitted without one.

I have no idea.
No, it's not a requirement at most medical schools. What is required is your pre-med and a minimum number of units. Because of how competitive medical school is, holding a bachelors has become one of those requirements that isn't technically one.

Reactions: 2 users

I have no idea.