No past experience?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CSU Undergrad

5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
After I graduate with B.S in biology I would like to go into a MPH program, but I have no previous experience. Do schools have previous experience requirements?

Members don't see this ad.

I dunno but there is still a chance; I have a similar problem

many schools only says *most* of their students have working experience but they did not say 'all'

some programs do have previous requirements..certain tracks of study at Columbia, Harvard, JHU, etc. do have work requirements that are usually listed. However, alot of schools will conditionally accept you if they really like you and ask you to work for a year and then take you in the program so its good to try anyways. I applied to about 7-8 different schools for EPI and got into all of them except Columbia; I only took a year off after i graduated and am currently interning with a marketing firm. I'm going to Emory in the fall for BSHE and for Emory, the admissions advisor said that many of their accepted students in EPI or Biostat are often students right out of undergrad, but students in HPM for example, usually have a few years experience. Do the research on which programs you would like to go into..because I know for a fact you do not NEED work experience..its just a plus

Members don't see this ad :)
Cool to see another CSU person on here! I have NO public health experience and am also getting my B.S. in biology at the end of this quarter. I'm not sure if volunteering counts, but if it does, then I have volunteered for ACS since high school and all through college. I only applied to SUNY Albany, USC, and Yale. Got in at 2/3 so far and still waiting on the last one. Have a great SOP. That's important for sure. Good luck.:)