No such thing as a stupid question? Challenge accepted!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rn2busyontinder2startiv

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, so I'm an MA student and a full time employed worker bee. I had an EMS background in another life but things were different back then. I'm strongly considering becoming a PA and moving away from the big city lights and to somewhere there is almost nothing but tumbleweeds. Due to the nature of my current work and lifestyle I unfortunately don't have the time nor the lumbar strength to do hours and hours of research for anything that isn't assigned to me by an instructor or an employer. My question is simple in a sense, however the old "why don't you just google it?" nonsense isn't what I'm looking for. If I was still on casual terms with any EMS docs I would obviously ask. I know the nature of EMS changes frequently especially state to state. I have lived in many states in the last decade so I have no real baseline to judge what maybe typical here or there...Any input thats not mean spirited would be appreciated because I'm genuinely interested in the topic.

Anyhow...What does it take to be a Doc in your local EMS system? What state are you in and must you be an MD or a DO with extra residency/training? Who can do what? Medical Director? Intake/Triage vs surgery? Tell me what it takes to be an EMS Doc where you live. Tell me as a layperson what being an EMS Doc means. I doubt I will ever work in an ER but I was enamored by a British show called Trauma Docs in the states and the state of EMS in the UK was mind-blowing to me. I want to know about our current American systems though. What separates the ER/ED Docs from the rest? What are the main orgs I should look into for more info? Thanks for any info! Cheers to all you ED folks!

Members don't see this ad.