Non traditional Applicant seeking input

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Counselingdentist

LECOM D1
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I'm new to this and hoping to get some feedback.

I am a non-traditional student beginning my pre-dental path. I have an undergraduate health science degree (3.7 oGPA, low science GPA) from a top-tier public university and a master's degree in school counseling (4.0 GPA) from the same university. I have been a practicing high school counselor for three years but have been considering this career change for basically the entire time. I have a genetic disorder that had caused me to need significant dental work (maxillofacial reconstruction + full mouth prosthodontic rehab) at the largest dental school in my state and my dentists there encouraged me to take the leap to get my DDS.

I do not have the science pre-reqs from my undergrad. In fact, the science classes I attempted in undergrad did not go well overall. Mostly Cs with a couple of Ws and an "E" (F). I am currently enrolled in a community college for Chem 1 and have been accepted to a second bachelor's program at a local state university in microbiology.

Questions:

A) Should I pursue the second bachelor's or is my application competitive enough (assuming decent DAT and science GPA with this second go-around) to just take the pre-reqs a la carte?

B) How much will a non-science master's degree be considered in application?

C) I work full-time and am taking these additional courses. I'm unsure I can fit in volunteering at a dental office. However, I have collectively spent hundreds of hours in the chair at research dental school (the same one I'm applying to). Do I need to bite the bullet and volunteer or will my first hand experience be enough?

D) AM I EVEN COMPETITIVE