[non-traditional] should I retake my exam in April

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

erowe22

Reaction score
Long story short, I was accepted to physical therapy school out of undergrad but soon found out that what I desired was outside the reach of PT and decided to pursue being an MD/DO.

My undergrad gpa is little above 3.2
Science gpa is around 3.45

All of my thousands of hours working and volunteering in physical therapy/orthopedic clinics carry over, I started shadowing derm+optho+ortho. I worked as an ER scribe. TONS of volunteering while I was a D-1 athlete. Decided to undergo a post bacc masters degree

masters gpa: 3.97.

Just took my first mcat and got the following:
510 (130/123/129/128)
cars cars cars cars man, screwed the pooch on that one. Basically considering applying with what I’ve got going for me right now to some mid tier schools and my normal reach schools (florida schools mostly for me). OR I can keep studying through feb and March and pray to god I get better in cars without going down in my other sections.
Let me know what you guys think, I’m tearing my hair out cause of the choice

Members don't see this ad.

Apply broadly to DO and you’ll be competitive. MD may be out of reach less so for the MCAT and more so for the low ug GPAs. Masters GPA won’t offset undergrad. If I were in your shoes I would plan on applying MD and DO.

Edit: can you say more about this masters program? Was in an SMP or was it undergraduate classes coded as graduate courses?

Apply broadly to DO and you’ll be competitive. MD may be out of reach less so for the MCAT and more so for the low ug GPAs. Masters GPA won’t offset undergrad. If I were in your shoes I would plan on applying MD and DO.

Edit: can you say more about this masters program? Was in an SMP or was it undergraduate classes coded as graduate courses?