Nontraditional Applicant Timeline Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nontraditionaljojo

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

To give a bit of background about myself -- I graduated in 2020 with a degree in business. I have worked at two different internships and was part of the finance club in school. Long story short -- I didn't like what I was doing in my internships and was put off by a lot of the interviews I had for full time jobs. Needless to say, Covid definitely didn't help with my job prospects and I graduated without a job. I began temporarily working in a dental office in summer 2020 helping with the financial side of the practice. I loved the patient interaction, decided to do some shadowing and loved it. Fast forward to today -- I enrolled in a post-bacc and successfully completed my first semester with a 4.0. I took bio, chem and physics 1 and am currently taking the level 2 courses right now. I also received my dental assisting license and work part time.

My question is: What kind of timeline can I reasonably expect? I began studying for the DAT in January, which hasn't been too bad. I'm just now getting to the ochem, which I am attempting to teach myself. I am planning on taking ochem 1/2 over the summer and biochem/upper level bio courses in the fall. Additionally, I was hoping to take the DAT at the beginning of the summer and apply in August. I have been struggling with the ochem and feeling discouraged about taking the DAT before I take the classes in the summer. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.