Not your typical applicant...you tell me? Any help appreciated. Thank you

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mississippikid

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I guess I have to say I am an extremely nontraditional student by so many different standards/ What I am hoping for is honest advice, suggestions, and practical and realistic expectations. Let me start to where I am now and how I got here. Growing up in an academic and hard-working biracial family, I worked hard all throughout high school and truly achieved. I had acceptances in some of the top schools in the nation and chose to attend Miami University-OH because of the fact that Ioved the campus and the professors there. It was to me and still is a beautiful institution. It didn’t hurt that I had a full-ride going there too. Basically 3 yrs ago (I am now a 4th yr) I completely diverted from the path that I originally set out on. I lost sight of what was important to me and didn’t put any effort in school because I was pursuing another dream: being a professional poker player. After 3 semesters in college, I had a 1.58 gpa (42 credits to be precise). I delved in poker and became very successful, earning a mid-6 figure income during my third year when I moved to Vegas. I met and became friends with countless people I admired and revered. I got to interact with the like of Alex Rodriguez, Michael Phelps, and even played in a table beside Steven Spielberg. I realized thought that this wasn’t for me. I wanted to help people and to provide as opposed to just living a life looking at cards. Money wasn’t and isn’t everything for me. I came back, in what should have been my senior year and am now taking 22 credits this semester. Yes that’s 2 credit hours over the limit usually allowed and my gpa should bump up to 2.5 before this summer, where I will try and take an additional 30 credits and bump up my gpa again. I hope to be applying to medical schools