Nurse practitioner to M.D. Advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NursepractitionertoM.D.

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a nurse practitioner student. I am about halfway through my program. I realize now that medicine is where I belong and feel unfulfilled in the nursing sector of patient care. I will not drop out of my current program. However, I do plan on taking some pre-reqs for medical school before I graduate. I am curious if anybody knows of any nurse practitioners who went to medical school? Also, I did take physics I and II and chemistry I back in 2007. I did not do well mainly because I did not study and I wasn't interested in school at 18 years old. Would it reflect poorly on me if I retake those classes?

Members don't see this ad.

1, Why? Why do you want to be a doc instead of an NP
2, You will likely need to retake those classes for pre-reqs for med school, they are required pre-reqs and needed for the MCAT.

I feel I am doing myself a disservice if I do not at least try to become a doctor. When I started college, going to medical school was always in the back of my mind. I did not think I was good enough.
In more than a few of the classes I have taken in the nurse practitioner program I have asked questions about the material and the professors have responded "Oh, you don't have to know that. That is for the doctor to know. Nurse practitioners treat the horse, the zebra is for the doctor." I want the knowledge to treat those patients. I want the autonomy and the option to specialize.

Members don't see this ad :)
My wife and I had a NP for our Primary Care provider for many years and loved her. I suggest that you stick with what you're doing, and you can pretty do what a doctor does, without a lot of the hassle and debt.