Nurse to MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xoticpny

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
Im just wondering if a nurse can ever be a doctor. What does it takes, because I have been told that its almost "IMPOSSIBLE".

Members don't see this ad.

Read the thread, Transition to Med School. It is NOT impossible. I am now a doctor who was once a nurse. It CAN be done.

ted, D.O.
Emergency Medicine-PGY 1
somewhere in the city

Reactions: 1 user
Hey Ted,
I have to say your accomplishments brings a smile in my face. I cheer for the nurses who made it that far. I was reading some of your post and is it really true that they look down on nurses? I mean if I have a Nursing degree, would I have a fair chance as anyone else applying. I recently completed all my pre-medical courses and got excellent grades and I have tons of volunteer experiences. All I have to do is take the MCAT. What else can I do to increase my chances of acceptance? What did you do? And what was you undergraduate GPA and MCAT scores? Please help.
Thanks for replying!!!
Congrat as well!!
P.S. :: I used to live in NYC Brooklyn. My mother worked in Downstate Medical Hospital. I miss it up there. :(

Members don't see this ad :)
I, too, have made the transition. It's been a good decision, thus far. There are 4 of us "formers" in my class (DO).