NYP Surgery

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ctsurgery293

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

If there is any resident here from NYP (columbia/cornell) please let me know as I do have 2 inquiries about their residency programs, as I am planning to take electives their?

Thank you in advance

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a Columbia student and have rotated at both hospitals.

To pre-empt things-- please don't take offense-- but your written English makes me think you're not a US student. You should know that Columbia, to their detriment, has more or less a blanket policy against interviewing FMGs. (There is one British grad in the program now-- who is fantastic-- and he came in as a PGY-3). Cornell will interview you if you rotate there and do very well but they are disinclined to match you to a categorical spot.

A letter from both would be helpful to a general surgery application.

I'm a Columbia student and have rotated at both hospitals.

To pre-empt things-- please don't take offense-- but your written English makes me think you're not a US student. You should know that Columbia, to their detriment, has more or less a blanket policy against interviewing FMGs. (There is one British grad in the program now-- who is fantastic-- and he came in as a PGY-3). Cornell will interview you if you rotate there and do very well but they are disinclined to match you to a categorical spot.

Thank you for the reply. In fact, I am in the same situation and would like to apply for electives there. I am an IMG and currently I am doing some research in surgery. Do you think it is a must to do electives there to get an interview? And if they don't like to interview IMG at all, do you think it is waisting of time to even think about it, at a time I can apply for electives somewhere else with higher chances to get a cat. spot? Ah,,by the way, do they have minimum USMLE score?

Thanks.