Ob/Gyn Textbooks

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mumd2011

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I am a 4th year student that just matched into Ob/Gyn. I am pretty sure I matched into a program that doesn't give money for textbooks. So, what does everyone recommend?

I already have a Williams Obstetrics. I'd appreciate any input on what might be beneficial. Obviously, I can't buy them all at one time but my Mom is having me set up an Amazon WishList. Thanks for any help!

Members don't see this ad.

Congrats on your match.

I actually use Gabbe's obstetrics... I find it easier to read than Williams. Both are good.

TeLinde for operative gynecology
Leon Speroff for reproductive endocrine
Barakat for Gynecology oncology
Comprehensive gynecology --> forgot the authors name but big green book.

Hope that helps.

OBGYN red book and OBGYN Secrets... I highly recommend for board purposes.

Comprehensive Gyn is by Katz (this is the same book that was previously known as Droegemueller -- different edition of course). I would stick with one major textbook per subject per year (one each for OB, Gyn, REI, and Gyn/Onc). However, it would be helpful to have one OB and one Gyn textbook to start out with. Be sure to check with your program first to see if they require any specific textbooks prior to spending the money. You could always enhance your "collection" later but to each his own!
I always recommend residents to read 10-15 pages per night which means you would get through the average book in 100-120 nights. Considering that the most nights will be taken by work, rest, or play (or some variation thereof), you can see how important it is to adhere to this regimen to successfully complete the goal. Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)